Quick courgetti

Rather unexpectedly, I’ve had a relatively pain-free January. The first day of February, however, was not the finest. Nothing bad happened; it was just a bit rubbish. And to soothe my violently bad temper (dearest colleagues, please forgive me) I snacked. A lot. So when I got home at nearly 8pm, I wasn’t hugely hungry but I wanted something comforting but also healthy. So I made courgetti.

Now courgetti, we all know, is a great divider. The spiralisers amongst us may think it’s the best thing since (gluten free) sliced bread, but the foodies frown at it. I neither love nor hate it but then I’ve often been accused of sitting on the fence. I’m no carb avoider but sometimes it’s nice to have something a bit lighter.

My little sofa supper took all of five minutes to make from bits and bobs in the fridge. Plus, it’s not that virtuous as I paired it with a glass of red – hey, I’ve had a crappy day and anyway, it’s my birthday tomorrow.

Here’s my recipe to try. I like how the slight bitterness of the fennel complements the sweetness of the sundried tomatoes but you could use leeks instead or anything that’s lurking in the salad drawer.

IMG_7063

(Serves one)

Ingredients

One medium courgette

Half a small head of broccoli (cut into florets)

Half a fennel bulb

A handful of pine nuts

Four or five sundried tomatoes

Two teaspoons of capers

A sprig of rosemary although you can use any dried herbs

A pinch of chilli flakes

Half a lemon

A glug of olive oil plus extra for serving

 

Method

Heat a deep based pan on and add the oil. Cook the broccoli for a few minutes on a medium heat, turning occasionally.

Add the pine nuts to the pan as well as the chilli flakes and rosemary or whichever herbs you prefer. If you have a spiraliser, use this to make the courgetti, although you can also use a vegetable peeler. Add this to the pan and shave strips from the base of the fennel bulb using a peeler.

Roughly chop the sundried tomatoes and add these and the capers to the pan and cook for two minutes.

Chuck it all in a bowl and season with more olive oil, black pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice. Serve with a large glass of red (optional).

Leave a Reply

