Kings of convenience 

I need a break. I’m living, breathing (and dreaming) the Royal Welsh Show at the moment and I’m counting the (21) days until my holiday.

I’d love to be that person who forgets to eat when they’re busy, but that ain’t me. I need food, especially when I’m stressed, but I don’t have the time (or the inclination) to cook this week.

Takeaways aren’t an option as dark chocolate is my form of Rescue Remedy and I sure as hell won’t let an agricultural show turn me into a real-life piggy. I know it’s regarded by some as pure evil (second only to a love child by Jeremy Hunt and Michael Gove) but when I’m tight on time, I turn to Tesco.

I personally don’t have a problem with Britain’s biggest supermarket chain. Yes, I buy locally when I can, but Tesco (and most of the others) offer a good range of cheap and seasonal veg. I’m not going to turn my nose up at that.
Vegan ready meals are hard to come by but if you’re clever, you can pick up quite a few things that will make a quick, easy and relatively healthy dinner.

Cheap and cheerful

Those microwaveable pouches of rice and quinoa, for example, are a Godsend. The Uncle Ben and Tilda ones are often reduced and the own brand versions cost as little as 50p.

Homemade houmous is super easy to make but you can pick up a pot for a quid and most varieties are suitable for vegans. You can also get courgetti, boodles (that’s spiralised butternut squash to you and me) and even beetroot tagliatelle these days.
Chuck in some veggies (it’s super easy to steam green veg in the microwave) and a tin of lentils or chickpeas and that’s supper sorted.

Ready in under five minutes

Proof that convenience food can be cheap and healthy.

One thought on “Kings of convenience 

Leave a Reply

