The avocado emoji has arrived!

Call me basic but I’ve been waiting with baited breath for the avocado emoji to arrive (yes, really) and now it has, I’m a happy woman. At last, I can express my love for this green goddess of a fruit without actually having to say anything.

I see this as a prime opportunity to share with you my favourite (and very predicable for me) foodstuff: the ubiquitous avocado on toast. Now, I know this isn’t a recipe per se – and people got into a right pickle when Nigella dared to share her avo toast last year – but there are many ways to enjoy this easy, healthy (and darned delicious) snack. Of course, you can simply dish up your avocado with a pinch of salt and pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice but I like to do things differently… Read on if you’re after some avo #inspo – LOL.

Avocado on toast with ginger and chilli

When Nigella shared this ‘recipe’ for this on Simply Nigella, the nation really did get its knickers in a twist. It was like Delia and boiled-egg-gate all over again. The thing is, Nigella has changed the way I’ll eat avocado forever because ginger and chilli (while perfectly delicious) are two things I would never have thought to serve with my brunch. Well, this works a treat. Here’s my take on Nigella’s toast – so to speak.

Simply toast your bread, peel and grate an inch or so of fresh ginger and thinly slice half a chilli. Mash half an avocado and mix in the ginger and chilli, then add a squeeze of lime juice and a pinch of salt or a dash of soy sauce. Serve on its own or with some spinach and sauerkraut if you’re feeling particularly healthy and/or smug. Alternatively, spread onto a whopping big crumpet.

healthy  crumpet

 

Avocado on toast with Marmite and peanut butter

Trust me; this is a dream. And it’s especially good if you have a hangover as the salty flavour of the Marmite is offset by the creamy mellowness of the avocado and the richness of the peanut butter. Umami, innit.

Toast your bread. Spread on as much Marmite as you can manage (this will depend on the degree of your hangover and/or your tolerance of the brown stuff) then follow with a liberal amount of peanut butter – the crunchy stuff works best for this. Top with half a mashed or sliced avocado.

PB and marmite2.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

